As we begin another school year, I wish . . .

Our teachers went back to work last Wednesday; students come back tomorrow. In the last two weeks, I’ve been asked numerous times, “Are you ready for school to start?” When I respond that I am excited, without fail, I get the shocked face.

People are never ready for that response.

And that got me thinking.

I’ve been in church my entire life, and I have had the honor to hear many missionaries who have come back to the States for a furlough of sorts – to rest and refresh, spend time with family, raise funds, and so on.

I can’t remember ever hearing anyone ask missionaries if they were ready to go back to their mission field.

Likely because any time they talked about their mission field, their faces radiated with enthusiasm and passion. They believed in their calling and their impact.

I’m sure they loved seeing family and friends, shopping at American stores, getting favorite foods they couldn’t get where they were. And rightly so.

Just like we, as educators, should enjoy our summers. It is a needed time of rest and refreshing. Some of us work additional jobs or travel and visit family. We get to have our morning coffee without carrying a stack of papers with us. Or have lunch at our favorite places and take longer than 30 minutes to eat.

And summer does always seem short. Many of us will go back without finishing all the projects we wanted to get done or visiting all the places we wanted to go or reading all the books we wanted to read.


But that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t be excited about our job, our calling. We are about to walk into classrooms filled with students – students we can directly impact. We matter. Our job matters. Our perception of our job matters. And how we portray our job to others matters.

So I wish for you the excitement of a new year filled with possibilities.

I wish for you the passion to make a difference in the lives of the students in your classroom.

I wish for you the overwhelming love of what you do every day.

I wish for you the compassion for the difficult times and the difficult people.

I wish for you the desire to continue to learn, to become better at your craft.

I wish for you the friendship of colleagues on this journey with you.

I wish for you the classroom that is full of risk-taking and writing and reading and talking.

I wish for you the vision that sees beyond today to the future of these students.

I wish for you the sense of urgency to know what you and how you teach matters.

I wish for you a school filled with great educators doing what is right for students.

I wish for you the best year yet.

 

Leave a Reply

